Not Paining enough??!! – It did for me! :-)

It’s been 1 year this week – been out of the “usual” conventional career. πŸ™‚

This short story really inspired me and definitely is one of the reasons why I am doing what I am doing today! πŸ™‚

Bawa (For those who don’t know, he is the director of YES!+ and WAYE, the youth wing of The Art of Living along with Dinesh bhaiya) shared this story in one of his YES!+ sessions. Though not exactly what he said, thought would share it with you all!

The story goes on like this –
There were 2 neighbours, we’ll name them – Kamal and Vimal. Kamal had a pet dog, name it – chintu. One night, Chintu kept howling throughout the night. Vimal was not able to sleep and got perplexed. The next morning, really irritated that he cannot take it anymore, Vimal decided to go to Kamal’s house to find out the reason. He goes to Kamal’s gate, opens it and finds Chintu sitting in a corner and howling. Rather surprised, He asked Kamal β€œwhy is he howling and crying sitting in a corner?” For which Kamal replied β€œit’s because he is sitting on a needle”. Vimal was even more shocked – β€œOh God! But, if he is sitting on a needle why doesn’t he get up and move out of the place? Why is he howling and going through the torture?” Kamal smiles and replies saying β€œBecause… it is not paining him enough!”

Got it??!! I did :-)…

I got my “dream” job as soon as I completed my final year. First year was awesome fun… I got to spend “my” money, how much ever I wanted to, didn’t have to ask anyone for going anywhere, stayed away from parents in Bengaluru, also got to come back anytime I wanted to. But, after that first year, it was the dog story… till I decided to do something about it. πŸ™‚

After a year at work, though I got really bored and irritated, I did not attempt to do anything about it for a long time – Reasons:
1. I didn’t even realize I was going through the pain, since everyone around me was in the same plight.
2. I did not have the guts to quit my job and do something new- “FEAR” – ohhh!!! what will I do if I am not successful in something I take up? Then I’ll not even get a job after that! 😦
3. I could hardly think of any innovative ideas to start of with something, if not for my job, as almost all the time I was at office!

AAAhhhh!!!! It was bad! Even now, I cannot imagine how people willingly go through this even though they know they are sitting on a big strong sharp pin!

Am just completing a year of being with YES!+ and Art of Living full-time… The year passed at a very fast pace, I cannot imagine that it’s been a year! Each month with a lot of HAPPIEST happenings!!! Best learning’s happened last year – somethings that I think would have only learnt after 10 years of work experience in a company. Best in all learning was that I can survive HAPPILY even without a penny in my account! πŸ™‚

Am just full of gratitude for all that has happened – all those I met, all those I meet, everybody!!! I cannot stop feeling grateful to all those who have made me what I am today! πŸ™‚

I have heard a lot of Guru stories. If I look back, my life has been a Guru story every moment and continues to be so… Want to tell you all of that… but not now :P… Will post on it soon, only if you all want to know! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

24 Comments

Filed under From my life..., YES!+

24 responses to “Not Paining enough??!! – It did for me! :-)

  1. Dj

    Kudos to u… u took the road not taken.. I hope i make a decision, when I see the roads diverging in teh yellow wood.

    One of the thought provoking blogs, i have ever read.. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Sachin

    Awsome ..KK…..

    Like

  3. good one…keep writing…will read your articles….

    Like

  4. wonderful post.. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. SS

    Nice One, do you believe in the saying “Known Devil is better than unknown angel”

    Like

  6. I know for sure i am on the pin too. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. KDJ

    If I had known this sometime ago, I wouldn’t have done my engineering degree and could have saved a lot of money.No probs I would advice the ppl who are planning to take up unwanted degree courses which will make them sit in front of a PC, eventually making them to sit on the pin too !!!

    Like

    • I don’t think that the degree per se is bad. But what is happening is, we tend to take the knowledge gained in degree as a boundary of what we can know or do, rather than a starting point from where to take things forward.

      More problem solving techniques and innovations training, and we can make best out of the degree learnt.

      Like

  8. KK

    Beauuuuuuuuuuuutiful πŸ™‚ …

    Like

  9. KDJ

    Today, the real face behind one more sanyasin clown has been shown to the world. I don’t know when will the other guys mask will be teared.Better take care baby, my heart goes out to u.

    Like

    • karpagavalli

      Hmm, I have myself had this habit of doubting πŸ™‚ I did many times doubt this “Guruji” , but nothing seems to shake Him… He cares a damn! Love Him loads for it… Complete non-interference in what you want to do, until you really want Him to … but encourages you to be the best in whatever you like to do… you really need to know Him dear! πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Awesome karp… been wanting to do that to myself for soemtime now.. preparations r in the way.. hopefully shld be soon…. if i have any obstacles.. i know whom to contact for motivation πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Hmmmmm…

    Can’t believe it is a year since you did that. And, yeah, interesting and thought provoking indeed. Not that I didnt have it before – but it is good to be reminded again. πŸ˜€

    Like

  12. Nagendra S

    Hey KK,
    Read your blog after a long time and this was indeed an amazing piece of news! Sometimes guess such events are tipping points in our life. Admire your courage in shifting to such a career. Wish you loads of good luck and hearty wishes for your future endeavors!

    Like

  13. amarja

    wow kakes. you have a real cool blog. this is my first visit to your blog and i must say, its real neat and impressive. can you please change your picture though? πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. Vijay

    Nicely written. Super cool post.

    Like

  15. Good article, cake.

    I totally agree with the three reasons cited for which people don’t leave their jobs….

    Anyways, that’s how things would be for some people for some time, only thing is atleast they should end up doing the job they really want to, rather than doing something they got into.

    Like

  16. Amitesh

    Its really Nice KK
    Jai Guru Deva!!!

    Like

  17. Shubha Varier

    so nice i caught hold of your website! πŸ™‚
    love you….n ya, tel us more…

    Like

  18. Hi akka,

    Nice post. Was able to relate to how u r always an expression of happiness rather than a person persuing happiness. Well as narrated happiness is not in accomplishing something but it is in the process of accomplishing. It is a journey which never ends if we choose to!
    Its better to follow your heart rather than follow the path of money and hope to find a heart there.. Well written!

    Like

Leave a Reply

