I love my Guru… My love(Guru) story :-)

With Guru poornima this year ‘raising‘ on July 25th, I wanted to type in something about my Guru(s). If I look back, look at now, look on to my future, I cannot see a single day where I had not been blessed by my Guru(s?!). I am not sure how many of you can relate to these posts of mine – As, it’s so much of an experience to even understand or decipher this even to the smallest possible level! It can be a lot of ‘show off’ too for some. Well, it just means that I am feeling extremely lucky and grateful for everything and you are free to feel the same too!!!

From when I can remember, I think I was 3 years when my parents took me to the near-by Shirdi Sai Baba temple in Mylapore. Then, once I remember me just walking early in the morning in the Margazhi month to Baba temple, may be I was 5 or 6 then. I remember it so well as I was really scared – I had never ever imagined to go anywhere alone and this was a km and a half from my house. Once I reached there, I felt a real sense of achievement. When I came back, my parents, my aunt, uncle felt the same and were surprised ;-). I was thrilled!!!

It started then and continued with my peripa(uncle) taking me to the temple everyday. I did not have any reason to go there, but you see, I anyways had nothing much to do after school! In the night, before they shut the temple, there is yummy dry fruit milk prasaad, I sometimes used to go exactly when the temple closes for this! Anything that I wanted in life… smallest to the smallest was taken care. I’ll go to the temple, just had to ask for, or sometimes it had even got done even before I asked for(which I realize now).

Over the next years, I started doing all this as though I was following a discipline, one most important thing in the “discipline” was to do 108 pradakshanams and 9 adi prasakshanams, having no idea why, but just because it felt good or to have my wishes fullfilled and that my family will be taken care off or just to thank for some miracle in my life. Pradakshinams are good – they get engineering papers cleared too!;-) My whole idea of spirituality, religion, devotion, bhakti, love, happiness, sharing my failures, sharing success stories, started, happened and ended in the lovely Baba temple, sometimes in few more temples around. Got a fan club going in the Baba temple too ;-)(Can’t resist showing off this :-P). Did my bit of seva that some guys regularly started coming to the temple and used to wait in different corners of the temple till I finished! Who cares, my pradakshanams kept going! Some times meeting with friends also happened in and outside the temple and long long conversations used to go on till it gets late to reach home(Meechi, you reading this?!)…

Sai Baba with His devotees

My peripa used to tell me the best of stories from the life of Sai Baba, the way He took care of His devotees, the way no one goes unnoticed by Him though He is not living in His Human form, the way He brought people together when He was alive, the way He fulfilled all the wishes of His devotees and took them away from any lil’ misery, how He used to cook for His devotees and part take, that there used to be celebration with music and dance in His place everyday and a lot more of them. I was sooo much in love and bhakti with all His stories and of course with Him, that I broke my boundary of not reading any books – Sri Sai Satcharithra was my first book that I read from 1st to last page, that too in a span of 7 – 9 days!(That is till date an achievement, if you had read my ACK post, you would have known my competency in reading books πŸ™‚ )

Every time I had gone to Shirdi, dunno because of what lifetimes of punyam of my parents or my peripa or mine or whosoever, I got the best of best treatment and darshan – somehow some random person will know my peripa and take us through to the best darshan place and to be nearer to Baba for a long time with least effort; remember, he was not a politician nor a “VIP” category government official. But, see I just happen to be one of the VVIP category for Baba ;-). My peripa’s devotion and commitment to serve Baba was extremely commendable and from Himachal to Kanyakumari at lease one person from almost all Baba temples would know him. And I feel extremely lucky to be the daughter of his sweet brother :-).

When I was in my 3rd year of engineering, something more happened – Baba introduced me to come to my then new Guru — shhh… reserved for my next post πŸ™‚

17 Comments

Filed under From my life..., Temples

17 responses to “I love my Guru… My love(Guru) story :-)

  1. Yes and if you look back, it feels like all this was planned by ‘someone’. Isnt it? πŸ™‚
    And please put your graduation post fast…

    Like

  2. Vijay

    Very well written. I never went a lot to the temples for different reasons. But whilst in the US, used to go there some Sundays at least to have prasad πŸ™‚

    //Got a fan club going in the Baba temple too
    Seri seri, tell us more about fan club stories too n ur adventures like jumping off the train/bus in college times too πŸ™‚

    Waiting eagerly for the next part of the love story πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Good post! the people who stood in different corners of the temple are security guards πŸ™‚

    Like

    • karpagavalli

      Hehehe! Hahaha πŸ™‚ Now that I have laughed, I’ll agree that you have amazing sense of humor! πŸ™‚
      So now, how did you know about where the security guards are placed without coming to the temple even a single day those days??!!!

      Like

  4. Lakshmi

    Nice post – takes me to good old days and gives me nostalgia..

    I can’t agree upon ur word “graduate” here.. sounds as if ur new one is higher and advanced and Baba somewhere at a lower level..

    Rather u can put β€œu” shifted to a new one.. and don’t state as if Baba asked u to shift – as Baba doesn’t recommend shifting Gurus..

    If you have really read Satcharitra – hope u remember this : “Come what may, leave not, but stick to your Bolster (support, i.e. Guru) and ever remain steady, always at-one-ment (in union) with him.”

    Like

  5. Meenakshi

    KK,felt so apt to read this post today,cos today is the last day of my ‘Saptah’ πŸ™‚ Really felt nostalgic reading the post-the innumerous Baba kovil visits,the numerous small and big miracles He has done/will do,our talks/conv at the temple,Peripa and his talks,the pradakshanams and adipradakshanams ( I have some to be done when I come to India ;)),wow I can go on and on…And thanks for mentioning its Guru Purnima on 25th!! Very well written πŸ™‚ Miss those days!!! Jai Sri SaiRam!!!

    Like

  6. Vinod

    Had I read 2 years ago… (rather I would not have even read it completely).. I wud have said, naaa… this is not for me or Oh!!! here comes a person who has attached a reason to a chain of co-incidences…
    Well, today it is different… πŸ™‚
    I am totallly thrilled to be going through whatever I am going through… πŸ™‚ n also happy to read posts like these…
    Waiting for the next post…

    Like

  7. sankar

    “Got a fan club going in the Baba temple too ” , I know a couple of stories here πŸ˜‰
    Good one , I can relate to the fact that the prasadam is equally enticing during the early days of going to a temple πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Venkatesh

    Waiting for the sequel to this story πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Muthu

    enjoyed reading this post! your way of writing connects people. i am totally able to relate to it πŸ™‚
    keep writing more. love jai gurudev. Muthu

    Like

  10. That’s a really interesting topic you have started on! I think I will also write some of my experiences with the Guru(s)!

    Well as to why pradakshinas – earlier, there used to herbal gardens around the temples, and the parikramas used to be very large, so told Guruji once, and smelling their fragrance had therapeutic effect.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Miss Cordiality « Something out of Nothing

  12. ve.gokul

    wo..
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. Shailendra Rana

    Interesting post KK ! πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. devotee

    BABA is great he do miracles in our life, baba blessed me throughout my life.

    Like

  15. Pingback: A(n) (…………!) decade with The Art of Living | Karpagavalli's Blog

Leave a Reply

