The day when the NICE Road was not so NICE

It’s been a month now, since when I had wanted to tell you the story. When life felt like a blessing and grace.

9th Aug 2012. I was riding my Wego on NICE road, on the way to Sumeru office near ashram. I saw the Sumo on the slow-moving vehicles lane. I wouldn’t be typing this if I had not seen it moving towards me. I saw it, and my reflex was right, I had to move my bike to the right and away from it. But, I couldn’t. It’s a highway & something else was moving on my right. So, all that I could do was to get my Wego just hit (I can still feel the jerk) by the sumo, feel my bike sliding and rubbing on the doors of the Sumo and fall down with my moving bike.

NICE road

Well, that was a SUV and me with my Wego. Within few seconds, I was dragged with my bike, on to the middle of the road where my body halted. My bike drove itself to the other side of the road a few meters away into the mud and grass. While I was being dragged, I just had this thought – ‘oh so now this is what one experiences when one gets hit by a Sumo’. I was also reminded of the last time I had fallen from a bike. It was not too bad. But, I had no clue what’s coming up next…

When I looked up, I had had a 180 degree turn. I saw a big lorry getting straight towards me and a blue car  approaching  to my left, on the other lane. And yes, even now my reflexes were right – I had to get up and move away to the side. But, that moment I understood the difference. The state where the mind had to give away to the body. I could not turn and look where my bike was. My hands and my legs did not move, any slight movement caused excruciating pain. I felt a state of helplessness. As I kept seeing the lorry and the blue car, within the next fraction of a second, my parents, Prasanna, Guruji, my nephew, sis, my wedding, friends, my childhood, Baba temple, my colleagues, my x colleagues, all the pleasurable moments of the past and the to be ‘happy’ future, flashed in just one shot. Tears started rolling. Thoughts of have I done good or bad karma throughout my life came up, especially, whether I had done anything wrong that morning! When all this was happening, I just had a thought of Guruji, that He should be knowing that I was stuck there. I really don’t remember if I prayed for help.

And then…. (to be continued in my next post).

7 Comments

Filed under From my life..., Happenings ...

7 responses to “The day when the NICE Road was not so NICE

  1. Just a reminder that u need to continue the post!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  2. GK

    Hi…

    I’m Krishnan, a relatively new follower of your blog. Have gone through all your earlier posts, and enjoyed reading every bit of it.

    Having said that, well, this entry was disturbing for sure… Adula suspense vera…. I sincerely hope that you are alright…. and the accident wasn’t a major one. The very fact that you posted about it, is probably a confirmation of you being safe and sound. But still….. kindly post the update. Sincere prayers for your well-being. God Bless!

    Like

  3. O

    where is the next post !!!

    Like

  4. eek, that would have hurt…
    really enjoyed reading though… looking forward to what happened next 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: The NICEr side | Karpagavalli's Blog

  6. Pingback: When Kashi Bhaiya Prescribed Me the Pain Killer… | Karpagavalli's Blog

Leave a Reply

